Pressure Canning Potato Soup

I love growing my own potatoes. This is my second year doing it, and it is fairly easy to do (except for digging them up). And they are guaranteed organic!

We had a fairly good potato harvest this year, but I saw last year that they did not cellar that well. They last a fairly long time, and have kept from June/July to October. But around this time, they start to root and will soon be inedible. Rather than rush to roast and eat them, or lose them, I decided I would make soup and pressure can them. I had an epiphany on food storage that I described in my previous post – pressure canning is a great tool for preservation! And I now feel very confident in my technique – think that is the key.

I did some research on whether sprouting potatoes are still good to eat, and found that the roots can be poisonous. If still firm and not shriveled, the potatoes are fine to eat – just cut off the roots! I decided to try this recipe and see how it went.

Below is what is left of my bag of Red Norland potatoes, about 20 pounds. These potatoes are so delicious and creamy! Most were still ok to use for my soup.

20161028

And here they are, all washed and scrubbed with roots removed.

20161028_105306

Cutting into them showed me they are still white and creamy.

20161028_114057

I decided to try 15 pounds of potatoes, at triple the recipe. I used 9 strips of bacon, 2 onions, 9 cloves of garlic, 4 teaspoons of Emeril’s Essence (it just adds great flavor) and 3 quarts of chicken stock. I actually had to add another quart, and that was just perfect. The recipe called for 3 cups (or 2.25 quarts for triple) or more – it definitely needed more!

20161028_122348

This was probably the smoothest canning experience yet, probably because I have the system down. I cooked the bacon until crispy, added the onion, garlic and spice, sautéed for a few minutes, then added the stock and potatoes. I seasoned with salt and pepper just lightly. I didn’t want to over season, and thought that can be adjusted when eaten. While the potatoes came to a boil, I prepped the canner and lids and it was ready exactly when the soup was done!

I ladled the potatoes into the hot jars and left about 1.5 inch of head space, just to be safe. It actually looks less like soup and more like canned potatoes, but I think that will be fine. When we eat it, we can either mash or puree a part or the whole jar. Or just eat as is, with some cheddar cheese on top. The flavor is still there and it is delicious! All in all, I was able to can 12 quart jars, with a little leftover to munch on.

20161029_071854

So, again this is a big step in moving forward in preserving as much out of the garden. This also provides a ready-made meal for when we are wiped out and our five kids are hungry!

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

