Melons

This is my first year growing melons, and I am very excited at the growth I am seeing. I am not without trepidation, though. It is like watching your favorite team winning, but the score is too close and they could still lose! I am excited, but what could go wrong?!

Trellising

My strategy going into this season was to maximize my garden, and so that meant trellising the melons. From what I read, melons are small enough for the vines to support them. If there was some issue, I would just have to figure out how to support them. Below is a picture from the front of the trellis.

20160721_082754

Below are the melons from the back. I grew shelling peas this spring in the back part of the bed, and now have some purple-hull pink-eye cowpeas growing. If you don’t know what these are, they are in the same family as black-eyed peas.

20160721_082805

Boule d’Or and Kajari

Last winter I flipped and flipped through the seed catalogues, trying to figure out what kind of melons to grow my first year. There are a lot to choose from! I finally decided on these two varieties. The first, Boule d’Or, is very pretty, and the picture below is from the Bakers Creek website and is described as:

boule-d-or-1

(Golden Perfection) Very sweet, pale green flesh is just marvelous. Yellow and loosely netted, a very beautiful melon. This was one of our top melons in our 2003 trials, truly incredible! It was listed in Vilmorin’s book The Vegetable Garden in 1885, but is very rare now. An all-time favorite and a dream for market growers.    – Baker’s Creek

Here as a picture of my baby Boule d’Or:

20160721_082819

The second melon I chose is the Kajari melon and is just as pretty, maybe more. I was really drawn to the exotic colors, and I really hope it is delicious!

Melon-Kajari-Seed-Explorer-Series-LSS-104

This is one of the melons that just about drove Joe crazy trying to secure. For more than 8 years he tried to get seeds of this extremely interesting variety. The red/copper stripes interspersed with light green and then a dark green rib make this an extremely unusual beautiful melon. We are told that it is extra-early, bearing in as little as 70 days. We have been told that the flesh is pale green/peach color and very sweet. Joe believes that this melon originated in the Punjab. The paintings for this melon were done by Amy Glasser a young Botanical Artist who has a great eye for detail. Thanks Amy!  – Baker’s Creek

Below are my baby Kajari’s!

20160721_082835

20160721_082845

Golden Russian Watermelon

I really just like growing things that are a little bit different. Everyone has eaten red watermelon… why not a yellow watermelon…from Russia?!? Behold, the golden Russian watermelon!

Watermelon-Golden-Russian-WM190-web

An introduction we received from our Ukrainian connection. It has a dark green skin with bright yellow flesh that is extremely flavorful and juicy. The size ranges from about 3 lb. to 12 lb. The smaller ones make great lunch-time melons for two people, with no leftovers.   – Baker’s Creek

And here are my sprawling watermelon vines. Since these can get larger, I decided to not trellis them. I just let them grow into the walkways…

20160721_082959

I love the dark green skin…

20160721_083049

With all the rain we are getting, I haven’t been able to check the growth of some of the vines. This one grew up the fence and now a little baby is growing. The skin is light green when young, but darkens with time.

20160721_083218

Another vine, grown up the fence with a wee little watermelon…

20160721_083155

These melons on the fence may be a problem, but since I haven’t grown watermelon before, I am not sure. I can either break the vine tendrils and lay the vine down, or see how big they get and if I can figure out a way to support them. I think I am more in favor of laying them down, as I may get busy and forget to see if they support.

Leave a Reply

