Herbs From Seeds

I shared about growing onions from seeds, and the same can be done with herbs using the over seeding method Gary Pilarchik uses. You can see his video below. I have seen it work with onions, and decided to give it a shot over the weekend. I am probably a little late for the herbs, but they will still grow and I will get them in the ground maybe May instead of April. No biggy. But I want to see this work! The whole seeding process was extremely easy.

 

Here are my  own herb flats, along with some flowers:

20160312_104418

Herbs: Thyme, Oregano, Tarragon, Chives, Summer Savory, Clary Sage, Sage, Marjoram, Rosemary, and Lavender. Some of the herbs I am not that familiar with, but have seen in recipes. Time to discover them!

Flowers: Zinnia, Calendula, Yarrow, Marigold and Balsam. These I have started in these seed trays, but will also direct sow them wherever I want or have space. The marigold and Calendula are supposed to draw beneficial insects and you can eat them as well.

Leave a Reply

