What Overwintered Well For Me

I was very happy with what I was able to harvest during the winter, but am surprised at what has survived and is growing well. Below is some rutabaga that I started from seed in September. I kept it under a row tunnel, and really thought I would harvest it in December. That didn’t really happen…but now it looks like it is starting to grow and the roots expanding. I can only expect it to continue to grow to full size.

20160221_100003

I have heard/read about overwintering, but things don’t necessarily connect in my brain unless I see and do it. This is something I will definitely do next fall with rutabaga – find a nice raised bed to let them relax and “chill” out during the winter and expect a harvest in the spring.

Something else that overwintered well was this red russian kale below. This is the row that I scatter seeded (to the offense of my OCD). This kale grew a bit and then just sort of stalled. I did have red russian in another area that we ate off of this past winter, though. This was started probably a bit late.

20160221_094203

Now it has started to grow new leaves out of the center, and I have done three things with it. 1. Transplant nine of them into one of my new beds, 2. dig some up to give away, and 3. harvest the rest to saute with some Brussels sprouts [store-bought 😦 ] and put in some soup. This seems like another great option for the fall.

20160221_094927

Another vegetable that seemed to overwinter was this chard. Yes, it is criminally infested with weeds, and I don’t think it is supposed to overwinter well, but behold! It lives! I have transplanted a bit of it into a couple other beds, and will harvest the rest for a nice saute with bacon.

20160221_095941

I already have written about carrots, which do well overwintering. There are even some carrots in some containers that I thought were dead, but are now starting to sprout from the center of the root! How will they taste, I wonder??

On the theme of overwintering, I really wanted to get some fava beans going this spring…but alas, all I have read is it is a late summer/early winter harvest or fall/overwinter-to-spring harvest. Let’s just say, I have plenty of these seeds from Bakers Creek: Masterpiece and Violetta fava beans.

 

One thought on “What Overwintered Well For Me

Leave a Reply

