Homemade Sausage

This is something I have been doing for over a year now, and so I thought I would just put a post about it. It is a part of homesteading, I thinking – doing things yourself, cheaper, and more delicious to boot!

I started out making sausage using a grinder attachment to our kitchen aid, but it was just not cutting it (err… pun sort of intended). I decided to get a more powerful grinder back in March 2013, since making sausage is easy and cost-effective. This little beauty is an STX-3000-TF Turboforce. It came with extra blades and three different plates with large to small holes. It also has sausage stuffing tubes. I read a lot of reviews before I bought this one, and it seemed solid. I was surprised that a lot of reviewers were making cat food and grinding up chicken bones. If it doesn’t have a problem with that, it shouldn’t have a problem with the meat I’m using!

20151014_204819

I made this batch last night, and all it involved was:

  1. Cut the meat into 1 inch cubes. In this case, pork. Some recipes call for pork fat, but I don’t worry about it if I don’t have it.
  2. Add your spices. For this sausage, I add 1 tblspn salt, 2 tspn coarse pepper, 2 tspn ground coriander per 3 pounds of pork. That’s it. The coriander marries well with the sweetness of the pork.
  3. Stick it in the freezer for about 30-45 min. You don’t want to freeze it, just get it firm so it grinds easier.
  4. Grind away! I made 17.5 pounds and, without rushing, it took maybe 3-5 minutes
  5. Stuff into casings or vacuum seal.

Most of the time I am making this northern Italian style pork sausage. It is just so tasty. The typical type of Italian sausage you get at the store has fennel seed, and that is more a southern style. We mostly use it for pasta sauces or soup, so there is no real need to stuff it. It takes longer, too.

I am finding that blogging helps to motivate me. It has been a while since I have made other sausages, and I have made some tasty sausages in the past. Sometimes you just get stuck in a rut and keep doing the same things. So, I promised my brother I would make some  Andouille sausage for the weekend of the Oct 24th, so I will post about that. He brought over some fantastic red beans and sausage, so we will have a repeat then. I am going to smoke them in my smoker, too. I have also made some tasty chicken sausage in past, so it is time to do it! The most memorable chicken sausage was just chicken, salt/pepper, and herbes de provence.

More posts to come later!

20151014_212221

20151014_220439

 

 

Leave a Reply

