Today’s Gardening Thoughts

Squash

Yesterday I posted on squash blossoms falling off the plants. This morning I inspected my winter squash (spaghetti in particular) to see if I could spot the boys and the girls. And as I searched around, I actually found more fruit growing that I had thought.

20150625_073327
Female Blossom
20150625_073341
Male Blossom
20150625_082454
Female Blossom
20150625_082458
Small Spaghetti Squash

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20150625_082559
Small Spaghetti Squash

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Corn

Just a picture update. Planted at the end of April, my first bed has tassled and there are some baby ears on some stalks. The corn planted two weeks later is about 2/3 the size. I added some blood meal to the soil to supply more nitrogen, and gave it a good soaking.

20150624_193351
End of April Corn
20150624_193356
Mid-May Corn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Peppers

Another picture update. The red peppers and poblanos are really approaching a mature size. I have not seen any blossoms, other than one that has become a small poblano. I don’t remember when my peppers came in last year, so I am just going to chill out and wait. We really love peppers and can’t wait for them to come in. This year I will take note of when both the blossoms and fruit arrive. Judging by how slow they grow, I am not concerned. One thing I will do this weekend is to add some more 10-10-10 fertilizer, to make sure there is enough nutrients to grow. The yellow and green (hidden behind the poblanos) are quite a bit smaller and were started maybe 3-4 weeks after the other peppers.

Poblano Peppers
Poblano Peppers
Marconi Red Peppers
Marconi Red Peppers
Yellow Peppers
Yellow Peppers

 

 

Onions

 

20150624_175805
Onion bed before weeding
20150624_193542
Freshly Pulled Onions
20150624_190711
Onion bed after weeding

 

 

 

 

 

Hmm, I am not sure what to think about my onions. They are small, really small. Discouragingly small. Why? Well, it might be because I have not really been as attentive to weeding as I should have been. Last night I really looked and there were a lot of weeds, as you can see. I am wondering if this has had an effect – well, I am sure it has had an effect, I just don’t know how much. My spacing was only maybe 9″ as opposed to the 12-15″ recommended. Also, it is only the end of June. I haven’t grown onions before, and so I really don’t know when they should be harvested. My growing guide says 125 days to harvest, so I think (once again), I need to relax and let it grow (yes, that was a “Frozen” pun).  It is probably like my carrots – they were small and I felt the same way, but saw that after another month or so, they had really expanded a lot. In the end, I pulled a fair few to see how they were doing, but will leave the rest and see what happens through July. I will definitely try to stay on top of the weeds… or at least make sure my kids stay on top of them! And I really need to lock in dates – when I plant, when I expect to harvest. I have tried to put this into my Fall garden plan and will stick to it.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

